May Thrift Haul

I have been dragging this thrift haul for awhile now because I keep adding on more items. Oops. Last Tuesday I headed down to Salvation Army at Serangoon and got a couple of things. There were many things really, but I was on a tight budget and prices weren’t so friendly, so I only picked up 3.

The first thing I got is this bright red “Singapore Silk Collection” Peacock Kimono. I was quite excited when I saw this because it is quite rare to find a Kimono in a Singapore Thrift store, but a few days ago I saw the exact same cardigan in Chinatown -.- But anyway, since bright red isn’t my favourite colour I’ll be selling it on my Carousell.

kimonoRed Kimono (Salvation Army)

The next thing I picked up was a dusty pink embroidery shirt. It was quite oversized but I got it away because the embroidery detail is just too pretty to pass up. So I cut off the sleeves and tapered it a little. Quite terrible stitching I must say. I hope no one notices 😛
embroideryPink Embroidery Top- $5 (Salvation Army)
Black Highwaisted Embroidery Shorts- Swapped (Carousell)

The third item is this gingham long skirt. It was too small but really easy to alter (just sew the buttons further out). I really liked the shape and colours (or lack of) but I am having some trouble styling it because it is not my usual length of skirts I like :/ It looks weird with a normal tank so I went to For Flea Sake and got a black cami to go with the mature look, 20s silhouette.

IMG_8056-1Lace Cami-$2 (For Flea Sake)
Gingham Skirt- $5 (Salvation Army)

On Friday that week WJ and I went to check out Something Old Something New which I reviewed in my last thrift post. It was quite overpriced so I didn’t get anything. After that we went to Hi-Thrift where I picked up the laser discs I saw there the last time I went. Love the album art here! The tale of Samuel Whiskers & The Tailor of Gloucester, How the Grinch Stole Christmas & Horton Hears a Who and Babe.

IMG_7991-1Laser Discs- $1 each (Hi-Thrift)

The next item I didn’t get from the thrift but I thought I’d include it because it’s so awesome. 100% silk vintage black button down from Carousell for $5. Last time I went to China they told me Silk keeps you cool on hot days and warm on cold days. I’m not sure how true that is but I’ll give it a try because it is the most comfortable shirt ever.

IMG_7983Vintage Black Silk Blouse- $5 (Carousell)

Along with the black cami I got from For Flea Sake on Monday I also found this furry accented black crop top. Really glad everything I got that day fit me so well :).

IMG_8073-1Black Furry Tank- $2 (For Flea Sake)
DIY Pom Pom Shorts– $12 (Originally from Carousell)

The last item is not thrifted but I believe I’ve found the cheapest clothing item at H&M. I got this heather grey crop top with a nice 20s silhouette. I would probably wear it under my muscle tanks and stuff that have big arm holes. And it fits me much better than a bandeau would!
IMG_8042-1Heather Grey Crop Top- $3.90 (H&M)

3 thoughts on “May Thrift Haul

  1. Pingback: Nifty Thrifty | We are all visual creatures

  2. Pingback: L.A. Noire | We are all visual creatures

  3. Pingback: Dreams | We are all visual creatures

Leave a comment